Australian of the Year Tour of Honour

Events Community

Australian of the Year Tour of Honour


Port Pirie is fortunate to host a free public forum next month which will bring four incredible
Australian of the Year recipients to our region.

The Australia Day Council of South Australia is bringing its Regional Tour of Honour to Port
Pirie on Thursday 11 November. The forum will feature an Australian of the Year panel
which includes:

Dr James Muecke AM, Australian of the Year 2020

Dr Muecke is an eye surgeon and blindness prevention pioneer. His focus is now the leading
cause of blindness in adults – type 2 diabetes.

Tanya Hosch, SA State Recipient Australian of the Year 2021

Ms Hosch is the first indigenous person and second woman appointed to the AFL Executive.
She has held leadership roles in sport, the arts, culture, social justice and public policy.

Isobel Marshall, Young Australian of the Year 2021

At just 18 years of age, Ms Marshall co-founded TABOO with school friend Eloise Hall, to
help women around the world by breaking down stigma around menstruation and providing
greater access to hygiene products.

Professor Richard Bruggemann, SA State Recipient Senior Australian of the Year 2021

Professor Bruggemann is making a difference to the lives of people living with an intellectual
disability. Throughout his career, he has provided expert advice to governments on disability
services, legislation, inclusion and rights.

The event will be held at the Port Pirie Sports Precinct Function Centre on Thursday 11
November from 12.30pm. Bookings are essential and can be made at:

For further information contact:

Port Pirie Council on 8633 9777